A Skit from Exodus 3

  1.  

    The following is taken from this website.

     Telling the Story:

    Ask the children: “Can anyone tell me about the story of Moses and the burning bush? Get answers from them, then introduce the following activity as a fun way to get to think about what it would have been like if they experienced this. Let them volunteer or ask for “volunteers”. Start out doing one yourself if needed.

    What emotions did Moses (or would you) feel if he were you. Show me your reaction if you…

    …saw a burning bush

    …heard God call your name

    …God told you that you would be a leader

    …saw your walking stick turned into a snake

    … suddenly developed leprosy on your hand

    …saw water turned into blood

    Discuss these emotions with children and act out your emotions and reactions.

    Now we’re going to perform a play, but it’s going to be really different. We’re going to have people read the words, and there are going to be people who act out the words. Have you ever seen a foreign movie where the mouths don’t exactly match the words they have coming out of them? A lot of old Japanese kung fu movies used to do that before they made them in English. (See if you can show them an example where the words and the mouth don’t match so they can see it in action.)

Appoint 5 kids to do the reading parts and then 5 to be the actors who act out. If there aren’t enough people, then parts can be combined because Moses and God have the most lines.

Moses and the Burning Bush (Script)

Moses and his son Gershom are taking care of their sheep (feeding, watering, brushing, etc.)

Gershom: Dad, why do the Israelites in Egypt have to work so hard all the time and why does the king always boss them around?

Moses: Well son, the Israelites in Egypt have been slaves of the king for a long time. It is a hard life being a slave.

Gershom: I wish they could be free . Moses: Yes, I do too.

Father-in-Law (walks over to Moses) Hi Moses, will you please take our sheep out to graze, they are running out of grass around here.

Moses: Yes, I think I’ll lead them across the desert to the mountain where it’s green. Gershom: Bye, Dad.
Father-in-Law: Bye, Moses, Thanks.
Moses: (waves goodbye, gathers sheep and walks toward “mountain”. Approaches bush.)

Moses: (holds hand up to eyes, looks into distance at the bush ) Hey look over there! What is that? It looks like a bush is burning. It is! How weird! The bush is flaming but it isn’t all burned up; I wonder why?

God: (booming voice) Moses! Moses: (startled) Here I am.

God: Stay right there. Don’t come closer. Take off your sandals. The ground where you are standing is holy.

Moses: (kicks off sandals, hides face, trembles)

God: I have seen how my people are being treated badly as slaves in Egypt. I have heard them cry. I want to bring my people out of Egypt into a land rich with milk and honey. Now you go to the king and tell him. You will lead the people out of this country.

page10image19576

Moses: Me? I’m not a very good leader. God: I will be with you.

Moses: What if I go to my people and tell them the God of your fathers has sent me to you and they ask me, what is his name? What shall I say?

God: Tell them “the Lord, God of your fathers has sent me to you”. Tell the leaders of Israel that I promise to lead them to a new and better land: they will believe you. The king of Egypt won’t let you go unless I force him to, so I will have to make some miracles. Then he’ll get mad and send you away.

Moses: What if no one believes me? God: Throw down your walking stick. Moses: (throws down stick)
Moses: (jumps back, screams)

God: pick it up by the tail

Moses: (picks up snake)

God: Do that with your stick and they should believe you. Next, put your hand in your shirt.

Moses: (puts white glove on and brings hand out of shirt, looks at hand and is amazed.)

God: See, now you have leprosy. Put your hand in your shirt again.

Moses: (puts hand in shirt and removes glove, he is amazed)

God: These miracles will help you convince the king but if they don’t work I have one more. See that water from the Nile?

Moses: Yes, here it is.
God: Pour it out and see it turn to blood.

Moses: (turns bottle over, water is red, he is amazed) God, I’m not a good speaker, it makes me nervous to talk to a lot of people.

God: I will give you the ability to speak and I’ll be with you.
Moses: (whines) Please, please, God, let someone else do it.
God: Moses, I’m getting cross with you! Okay, I’ll let your brother Aaron help you. He will

speak and you tell him what to say. Look, here he comes now. Aaron: (waves) Hey Moses, wait for me!

Moses: Hi Aaron, guess what just happened. We have an important job to do and then we’re going to the land of milk and honey.

(Moses and Aaron walk off with sheep.)

Prayer: Ask for a volunteer, or simply pray. Thank you God for letting us learn more about you and thank you that you do talk with us, and that you do want to use us every day. Help us to say yes to you as often as you ask us. Amen.

Leave a Reply

